Norm Miller MPP Parry Sound - Muskoka

Miller Supports the Fair Treatment of all Municipalities

March 22nd, 2017

Press Releases

QUEEN’S PARK – Last month John Yakabuski, MPP for Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke, re-introduced his Private Member’s Bill titled the Gasoline Tax Fairness for All Act. If passed, the bill will ensure that every municipality will get a share of the gas tax that every driver in the province pays for.

Currently, the Gasoline Tax Act only permits those municipalities that have a rapid transit or public transportation system to get a tax rebate. As a result, only 100 out of 444 municipalities receive money from the gas tax even though every resident in the province pays into it.

Since 2005, MPP Yakabuski has repeatedly introduced this legislation in the hopes of ensuring that all municipalities share in a portion of the gas tax, irrespective of a public transportation system.

MPP Miller fully supports the Gasoline Tax Fairness for All Act and encourages his colleagues in the legislature to vote in favor of MPP Yakabuski’s bill.

“The federal government currently distributes their portion of the gas tax to all municipalities,” said Miller “I see no real reason for the province not to do the same”.

The Ontario PC party has endorsed gas tax fairness in its last three election campaigns.



For more information contact:
Norm Miller, MPP – 416.325.1012 or 1.888.267.4826