Norm Miller MPP Parry Sound - Muskoka

Miller announces Community Infrastructure Funding

January 17th, 2020

Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund invests $5.8 Million in infrastructure projects in Parry Sound – Muskoka


Parry Sound, ON – The Ontario government is making another investment in small, rural and northern communities. Through the Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund (OCIF), Ontario continues to support municipalities as they build and repair roads, bridges, water and wastewater infrastructure.


Today Premier Doug Ford and Minister of Infrastructure Laurie Scott joined MPP Norman Miller in Parry Sound to announce that this year Parry Sound – Muskoka will receive more than $5.8 million across 26 municipalities to address their local community infrastructure needs.


“I know that small municipalities like those in Parry Sound-Muskoka face challenges in maintaining their essential infrastructure so I am pleased to announce this funding,” said Miller. “This money will help build and repair roads, bridges, water and wastewater infrastructure in our communities which will in turn improve safety for residents and help our communities attract both people and businesses.”


Total investment in communities across Parry Sound – Muskoka are as follows:


Municipality OCIF Allocation for 2020
Township of Carling $50,000.00
Township of Joly $50,000.00
Township of Machar $50,000.00
Township of McMurrich-Monteith $50,000.00
Township of Perry $50,000.00
Township of Ryerson $50,000.00
Village of South River $50,000.00
Municipality of Whitestone $50,000.00
Township of McKellar $54,514.00
Township of Georgian Bay $61,249.00
Municipality of Magnetawan $68,261.00
Village of Sundridge $73,322.00
Township of Strong $78,626.00
Town of Kearney $86,630.00
Township of Armour $87,003.00
Township of Lake of Bays $87,640.00
Town of Gravenhurst $110,245.00
Township of the Archipelago $111,775.00
Village of Burk’s Falls $130,463.00
Municipality of McDougall $149,179.00
Township of Seguin $162,321.00
Township of Muskoka Lakes $196,177.00
Town of Bracebridge $246,774.00
Town of Huntsville $337,498.00
Town of Parry Sound $746,185.00
District of Muskoka $2,616,152.00
Total $5,804,014.00


This funding is a part of Ontario’s approximately $200 million commitment to 424 communities addressing their core infrastructure projects and asset management planning needs in 2020.


“This investment provides the predictable and stable infrastructure funding small, rural and northern municipalities have asked for,” said Laurie Scott, Minister of Infrastructure. “With this OCIF funding we are working directly with our municipal partners to deliver community infrastructure.”


Recognizing that municipalities have different infrastructure needs, the province uses a straightforward and transparent formula that examines various social and economic factors to determine funding allocations across the province.


The Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund provides stable and predictable funding for communities with populations under 100,000, along with all rural and northern communities. Approximately $200 million in formula-based funding was allocated to small, rural and northern communities for 2019. Municipalities may accumulate their formula funding for up to five years to address larger infrastructure projects.


Ontario also provides funding to communities through the Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program (ICIP), a $30-billion, 10-year infrastructure program cost-shared between federal, provincial and municipal governments. Ontario’s share per project will be up to 33.33 per cent, or $10.2 billion spread across four streams: Rural and Northern, Public Transit, Green, and Community, Culture and Recreation.